Vyas Samman Award presented

Eminent Hindi writers Ramdarash Mishra and Narendra Kohli have been awarded the prestigious Vyas Samman for 2011 and 2012 respectively.

American writer Lydia Davis wins Man Booker Prize

American writer Lydia Davis won the Man Booker International Prize announced here on Wednesday, picking up the £60,000 award given in recognition of a writer’s overall contribution to fiction.

Pranab honours Mamoni with Asom Ratna Award

Hornbill conservator Aparajita Datta gets Whitley Award

Aparajita Datta’s project, ‘Threatened hornbills as icons for the conservation of the Himalayan forests’, was the only Indian scheme among eight finalists for the annual awards ceremony at the Royal Geographical Society.

Jenita Mary Nongkynrih wins ISRO Young Scientist Award 2013

A young woman scientist from Meghalaya, Jenita Mary Nongkynrih, has been selected for this year’s ISRO Young Scientist Award for her urban information system project in the North East. The award carries a citation and cash of Rs 50,000.

Dadasaheb Phalke Academy Award for Yash Chopra, Rajesh Khanna

Jai Chandiram awarded lifetime achievement award

Ms. Chandiram was among the first women on Indian television and the IAWRT’s first Asian president. Her eclectic career, that included a stint as a part-time actor, inspired a whole generation of professional media women. She was also a champion for women’s rights.

International Museum Of Toilets now officially weird, unusual

The International Museum Of Toilets that is housed in Delhi’s Palam area, has made it to the list of the Top 10 ‘Weird and Unusual’ museums in the world. The list, compiled by a travel portal, also includes the Witch Museum in Salem and the International Spy Museum in Washington DC.

President gives away Padma awards

Nobody was named for the Bharat Ratna this year too. The last awardee was the late Bhimsen Joshi in 2008.

Abel Prize for Belgian Pierre Deligne

Belgian mathematician Pierre Deligne has been chosen for this year’s prestigious Abel Prize in Mathematics for his “seminal contributions to algebraic geometry and for their transformative impact on number theory, representation theory and related fields.”

Jnanpith for Ravuri Bharadwaja

Telugu writer Ravuri Bharadwaja was on Wednesday selected for the prestigious Jnanpith award for the year 2012. The 86-year-old writer, who has more than 37 volumes of short stories and 17 novels among other works to his credit.

Pulitzer prize goes to novel about North Korea

Adam Johnson has made just one trip to North Korea, but the American academic's novel The Orphan Master's Son has won him the Pulitzer prize for fiction for carrying his readers "on an adventuresome journey into the depths" of the totalitarian country.

Pulitzer Prize: NY Times wins 4 awards

The New York Times won four Pulitzer Prizes on 15 April 2013, including the award for investigative reporting for stories that detailed how Wal-Mart used bribery to expand in Mexico.

'Baby Nobel' for Delhi-born US economist Raj Chetty

New Delhi-born Raj Chetty, now a professor of economics at Harvard, has been named the 2013 winner of the John Bates Clark Medal

Italy waste campaigner wins 2013 Goldman Prize

The awards, called the Oscars of the environment movement, will be presented at a ceremony in San Francisco.

Veteran actor Pran wins Dadasaheb Phalke Award

Legendary actor, Pran Krishan Sikand, 93, on 12 April 2013 was awarded with Bollywood’s highest honour in Indian Cinema Dada Saheb Phalke Award 2012. He is the 44th Dada Saheb Phalke Award Winner.

The Fourth Edition Of AIMA Managing India Awards

NTPC Awarded as Most Efficient Maharatna

Competition Commission of India Nominated for Global Competition Review Awards 2013

The Competition Commission of India (CCI) has been nominated for ‘Global Competition Review (GCR) Awards 2013’ under the category of “Agency of the Year-Asia-Pacific, Middle East & Africa”. It is very first time that the CCI has been nominated for this internationally prestigious award.

Navneet Kaur Dhillon Crowned Pond’s Femina Miss India 2013

Navneet Kaur Dhillon was crowned Pond’s Femina Miss India 2013. Sobhita Dhulipala and Zoya Afroz were the first and second runners-up respectively