60th National Awards Winners list

The 60th National Awards have been announced and Irrfan Khan won Best Actor for his performance in Paan Singh Tomar, which also won Best Hindi Feature Film. Rajamouli's graphical extravaganza Eega won National awards in the category of 'Best Special Effects' and 'Best Regional Film in Telugu'. The National Film Awards, initiated to honour those who work in the Indian Cinema is given away every year.

S. Venkata Mohan gets National Bioscience Award

S. Venkata Mohan of the Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, here has won the National Bioscience Award for 2012, awarded by the Department of Biotechnology, for scientists below 45.

Bollywood director Kamal K.M. wins Gollapudi award

Bollywood director Kamal K.M has been chosen for the 16th Gollapudi Srinivas National Award for his bilingual film I.D. The Hindi-English film, I.D ., is based on a real life incident and revolves round the search for a person’s identity in a city.

Rajiv Gandhi National Quality Awards Announced 2011

The awards are given annually by the Bureau of Indian Standards with a view to encouraging manufacturing and service organizations to strive for excellence and giving special recognition to those, who are considered to be the leaders of quality movement in India.

Indians who have won Man Booker Prize in the past

Salman Rushdie, Arudhati Roy, Kiran Desai, Aravind Adiga

Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad airports among top 5 in the world

Airports Council International (ACI), a global body of airports, has adjudged Delhi's Indira Gandhi International (IGI) airport as second best after Seoul's Incheon airport in the category of airports handling 25-40 million passengers per annum (MPPA) for their service quality for the year 2012. Hyderabad's Rajiv Gandhi International airport (RGI) has bagged the second position for their service quality in the category of five to 15 MPPA.

Indian diplomat-poet among five to get SAARC Literature Award 2013

Indian diplomat-cum-poet Abhay K has been given the SAARC Literature Award for 2013 along with four other luminaries - poet Suman Pokhrel of Nepal, script writer and poet Farheen Chaudhary of Pakistan, Abdul Khaliq Rashid of Afghanistan and novelist Daya Dissanayake of Sri Lanka.

Laureus World Sports Awards 2013: The Winners

The winners of the 2013 Laureus World Sports Awards have been unveiled at a globally televised Awards Ceremony in Rio de Janeiro. The awards were announced in seven categories as follows

India Tourism film 'Find What You Seek' gets first prize at 11th Golden City Gate Awards

Ministry of Tourism’s new film 'Find What You Seek' received first prize at the 11th Golden City Gate Tourism Media Awards ceremony held in Berlin to coincide with ITB Berlin 2013. the new campaign “Find What You Seek”, The second phase of Incredible India Campaign at WTM 2012 in November last year along with the new Domestic Campaign “Go Beyond”.

Nirbhaya shares US International Women of Courage award

The young student, who has become known simply as “Nirbhaya” or “fearless,” was awarded the US International Women of Courage award posthumously along with Tibetan poet Tsering Woeser, Vietnamese blogger Ta Phong Tan and Syrian human rights lawyer Razan Zeitunah

Bihari Puraskar to Hariram Meena

Rajasthani writer Hariram meena will be conferred with the Bihari Puraskar for 2012 for his hindi novel "Dhoone Tape Teer". The novel is based on sacrifices of scores of tribal people at Mangarh mountains near Banswara in Rajasthan on November 17, 1913 when British forces had resorted to gunfire to contain their revolt.

Outstanding Parliamentarian Award - 2010, 2011 and 2012

Senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley (2010), Congress veteran Karan Singh (2011) and JD(U) chief Sharad Yadav (2013) have been selected for the 'Outstanding Parliamentarian Award', it was officially announced today. The Indian Parliamentary Group had instituted the award in 1994 which is conferred each year.

Liberation War Honor Award to President Pranab Mukherjee

Bangladesh honoured the Indian President Pranab Mukherjee with the 'Bangladesh Liberation War Honour Award' for his "outstanding contribution" to the 1971 war. It is the second highest honour provided by Bangladesh. Earlier in 2011, Indira Gandhi was awarded the highest honour of, 'Bangladesh Freedom Honour' posthumously for her role in creating the nation of Bangladesh.

B Surender Mohan Conferred With the 'CEO with HR Orientation' Award

World HRD Congress is the largest meeting of the HR professionals from the world which brings together global personalities.

NSPCL CEO conferred Exemplary Leader Award

Vishwaroop, CEO, NTPC SAIL Power Company (NSPCL), a joint venture of NTPC and SAIL, has been conferred with “Exemplary Leader Award” by World HRD Congress “Global HR Excellence Awards” held in Mumbai. Mr. Vishwaroop has been honored for his contribution to the Power Sector.

E&Y honours Ratan Tata with life-time achievement award

Leading accounting and consultancy firm E&Y India has awarded the Tata Group patriarch Ratan Tata, the Chairman Emeritus of the $100-billion conglomerate, with the Entrepreneur of the Year Lifetime Achievement Award. Tata had won the E&Y Entrepreneur of the Year Award in 2003 as well.

Indira Gandhi peace prize conferred on Ela Bhatt

Elaben Bhatt, founder of SEWA, was awarded on Monday the prestigious Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development 2011 by President Pranab Mukherjee for her lifetime achievements in empowering women through grassroots entrepreneurship.

Pandit Ravi Shankar awarded Grammy award posthumously

Sixty days after his demise, sitar legend Pandit Ravi Shankar was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Grammy award, which was jointly accepted by his musically gifted daughters Anoushka Shankar and Norah Jones. He also won the best world music album grammy for The Living Room Sessions Part 1.

Nobel Prize Awards for 2012

Army Major Manjali to get Kirti Chakra

Major Anup Joseph Manjali, a young officer who took on three terrorists in a gunfight in Jammu and Kashmir last September, will be the sole Kirti Chakra awardee in this year’s Republic Day. Kirti Chakra is the country’s second highest peacetime gallantry medal.